Perugia is the country seat of the Green Heart of Italy, Umbria, a unique and fascinating city. Perugia is strongly influenced by the passage of the Etruscan and the Romans and it offers to the visitors the opportunity to spend not only a cultural but also a gastronomic (it is recognized as the chocolate town because of the presence of the Perugina factory), natural and religious experience (Assisi, the birthplace of Saints Francis and Clare, is 20 minute by train from Perugia, where there are the two shrines and their remains, place visited 365 days a year by pilgrims from all over the world). Beyond the famous National Gallery of Umbria, we suggest three museums in the historic center of the city that will astonish you. BOOK HERE THE ATTRACTION IN PERUGIA❯
The House Museum Ranieri of Sorbello
The House Museum is part of the monumental comlpex that also includes the Etruscan well, near Piazza Piccinino, a few steps from Piazza IV November. This old palace, the property of the Marquis Ranieri of Sorbello since the XVIII century, houses a valuable collection of paintings, porcelains, printed works, manuscripts, and embroidered fabrics.The visit is guided and bilingual, so that you can understand and know the interesting story of this family, who has lived in that building for generations, and their influence on the city of Perugia. At the end of the visit, you will be able to admire a breathtaking view of Perugia and the Valley of Assisi from the panoramic terrace.
The Etruscan Well Museum
Perugia, one of the most important cities in the Etruscan Dodecapoli, is home to one of the most important examples of Etruscan hydraulic engineering and architecture in the basement of the Palazzo Sorbello, the Etruscan or Sorbello well. The well is in the highest part of the city, reaching a depth of 37 meters, built in the middle of the third century BC. Over the years, the well has undergone a number of restoration works, especially on its cover, the well curb, which suffered repeated damage over the years due above all to motor vehicle traffic in the square. Today it is in front of the entrance of the House Museum, and the iron grate displays two family coats, one, clearly legible, belongs to the Bourbon di Sorbello family, the other is that of the Eugeni family.
Palazzo Baldeschi al Corso
The palace we admire today is the result of the fusion of several buildings in the area between Corso Vannucci and its intersecting streets. It became a museum in 2002 when the Saving Bank Foundation of Perugia acquired it. It hosts the prestigious collection of works of art of the Foundation, which consists of over 200 pieces of paintings, sculptures, and drawings by Umbrian artists and others too. From 1400 to 1900, the set-up of the museum proposes a road map for thematic areas: the noble plan is intended for the temporary exhibitions which are organized on the basis of an annual program, and then there is the collection of Renaissance Maiolica, composed of 147 artifacts from two very important collections, the Marabottini Collection, a donation of over 700 works, including paintings, sculptures, drawings, incisions, miniatures, waxworks, glazers, decorations, porcelains from the sixteenth and twentieth centuries.